Australian Grand Prix

The Australian Grand Prix is an annual Formula One race said to be the pinnacle of motor racing in Australia. The competition was first held in 1928 at Phillip Island. It has been run 76 times since then, making it the oldest surviving motor race in Australia. Since the inaugural race, the Australian Grand Prix has held multiple venues in every state of Australia. It was not until 1985, when the race became part of the Formula One World Championship that it held a truly consistent venue. From 1985 to 1995 the race was held at Adelaide Street Circuit. As of 1996, it has been held at the Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit every year.

The Australian Grand Prix is the second round of the Championship. It has been the first race of each year, excluding 2006 and 2010, since the event moved to Melbourne. During its years in Adelaide, the Australian Grand Prix was the final round of the Championship. As the final round of the season, the Grand Prix hosted a handful of memorable moments, most notably the 1986 and 1994 events which saw those respective titles decided. German driver Sebastian Vettel won the most recent Australian Grand Prix in 2011.

Why Join Us?

We combine great social networking and excellent content, all in one place!

  • Interests

    Choose the interests you want to follow
  • Community

    Connect with friends and other sports fans
  • Content

    News, Views, Equipment Reviews, Contests & Deals
Join Now

Are you a f1 driver?