Spanish Grand Prix

The Spanish Grand Prix is an annual Formula One race held at the Circuit de Cataluyna. The first Spanish Grand Prix was held in 1913.

In the beginning, the race had a hard time taking root. The 1931 and 1932 races were cancelled due to the bad economic situation. Racing returned from 1933 to 1935. Following the 1935 race, Spain descended into civil war and racing stopped again. In 1946, racing returned to Spain in the form of the Penya Rhin Grand Prix at the Pedralbes Circuit in Barcelona.

Spain did not return to the international calendar until 1951, joining the list of races of the Formula One championship, on the Pedralbes Circuit. In 1955, an accident at the 24 Hours of Le Mans caused the track at Pedralbes to be dropped from the racing calendar.

In the 1960s, Spain returned to the world of international motor racing with the construction of a new circuit north of Madrid. In 1968, the race was added to the Formula One calendar. The race has been held at the Circuit de Catalunya since 1991. German driver Sebastian Vettel won the most recent Spanish Grand Prix in 2011.

Why Join Us?

We combine great social networking and excellent content, all in one place!

  • Interests

    Choose the interests you want to follow
  • Community

    Connect with friends and other sports fans
  • Content

    News, Views, Equipment Reviews, Contests & Deals
Join Now

Are you a f1 driver?